Thanks to Anna Vanderspek, Green Energy Consumers Alliance for this info:
The wait is over! Massachusetts just announced three new changes to the state rebate program for electric cars, MOR-EV, that will make electric vehicles (EVs) more accessible to more people in Massachusetts. All three changes stem from last year’s climate law, which included several provisions to make EV access more equitable in the Commonwealth.
Reminder of MOR-EV Rules
First, a quick reminder: all Massachusetts residents, businesses, and nonprofit organizations can apply for the MOR-EV rebate to bring down the up-front cost of light-duty passenger vehicles. (A subprogram, MOR-EV Truck, offers rebates for medium- and heavy-duty vehicles. More on that here.) Drivers have 90 days after the purchase or lease to apply and receive $3,500 for fully battery-electric vehicles with a final sales price under $55,000. This rebate is now referred to as “MOR-EV Standard” to distinguish it from the three new program features!
Rebates for Used Electric Cars
MOR-EV has offered rebates for new electric cars since 2014. Now, for the first time, residents of Massachusetts who purchase a used electric vehicle (EV) qualify for a rebate as well. Used vehicles must meet the same qualifications as new vehicles, but there are a couple of additional eligibility requirements for this aspect of the program, called “MOR-EV Used Vehicle.”
Another reminder: the state rebate is in addition to the federal tax credit for used EVs, which is up to $4,000. However, the price cap for the federal tax credit is $25,000 instead of the $40,000 for MOR-EV Used.
Rebates Available at the Point-of-Sale
Historically, Massachusetts residents have had to fill out an application online after purchasing or leasing an EV and then wait for a check to arrive in the mail to receive their rebate. Now, residents can claim the rebate directly at the point of sale at certain participating dealerships. MOR-EV maintains a list of those dealerships here. We expect that list to grow over time!
If you’d like to take advantage of the MOR-EV at the point-of-sale, simply work with one of the dealers on that list to acquire a vehicle. When it comes time to purchase, you’ll have to show the dealer a copy of your driver’s license to verify your residency in Massachusetts and sign two forms (an “Applicant Terms & Conditions” form and a “Rebate Transfer Acknowledgment Form”). They’ll take it from there!
Additional Rebate for Low-Income Drivers
Finally, MOR-EV now also offers a higher rebate for income-qualified drivers through “MOR-EV+”. To qualify, you must participate in one of these existing income-qualified programs. MOR-EV+ adds $1,500 to your MOR-EV Standard or MOR-EV Used rebate, bringing the total up to $5,000.
However, much like MOR-EV Used, MOR-EV+ is currently only available as a rebate after purchase. Again, starting August 31, eligible residents will be able to apply for pre-qualification to get a voucher to access MOR-EV+ at the point of sale.
For application instructions, please see the MOR-EV website here.
Other Changes of Note
In addition to these three big changes, there are a couple of items worth noting in the state’s announcement: